Looking at the storage area Is your iPhone alerting you that it’s almost full? The Offload App is a useful space management tool in these scenarios. You can use it to free up local iPhone storage either automatically or manually. This article will show you how to activate app offloading and re-download apps that have been offloaded.

What is the Offload iPhone and iPad app?

In the early days of iOS, you had two choices for apps: keep them on your iPhone or delete them. The app and its data remained in local storage if you maintained it. The app itself, as well as all of its local data, was erased when you removed it.

Apple added the ability to unload programmes in iOS 11. This is a good compromise between keeping and removing an app.

When you unload an app, the app is removed from your device, freeing up local storage. However, the app’s documents and data remain on your iPhone. Because the app data is still maintained once you reinstall the offloaded app, you can continue to use it as before. In other words, offloading ensures that app data, as well as user preferences and documents, remains on your device, as opposed to removing an app, which nukes its binary and data out of orbit.

Given the growing size of apps, it’s a good idea to unload them to free up space on your iPhone. And, thanks to Wi-Fi or cellular connectivity, downloading an app is simple and quick.

Offloading apps is an excellent way to optimise capacity, whether you have a 16 GB, 32 GB, or 64 GB iPhone or one that’s already full. You can either do it yourself or have your iPhone do it for you.

How to manually offload apps on iPhone and iPad

  1. Open Settings and tap General.
  2. Tap iPhone Storage and give it a while to load.
  3. From the list of apps, tap the app you want to offload.
  4. Tap Offload App and confirm.

Is it possible to uninstall all apps?

You can uninstall all third-party apps that you downloaded from the App Store, as well as several Apple apps such as TV, Music, Mail, Files, Maps, Books, Reminders, Podcasts, Contacts, Calendar, Shortcuts, Measure, Home, Compass, Stocks, FaceTime, Tips, iTunes Store, Translate, Calculator, Weather, Voice Memos, Notes, Magnifier, and all other Apple apps such as iMovie, Numbers, Pages, Keynote, Apple

Photos, Phone, Safari, Wallet, Messages, and Health applications cannot be offloaded or deleted.

It’s worth noting that if your iPhone is coupled with an Apple Watch, you won’t be able to delete or offload the Watch and Fitness applications. You can unload or uninstall the iOS Watch app if you don’t have an Apple Watch connected.

If you uninstall or delete the FaceTime app, you can still use the Phone or Contacts apps to make FaceTime calls.

How to dump apps on iPhone and iPad automatically

Finding and unloading programmes by hand can be quite consuming. If you’re having trouble keeping local storage free, you can have your iPhone dump apps for you. Your iPhone will automatically dump apps that you haven’t used in a while if you activate it.

  • Here’s how to enable automatic app unloading on your iPhone or iPad:
  • Select General from the drop-down menu in Settings.
  • Select iPhone Storage from the menu.
  • Tap Enable next to Offload Unused Apps under Recommendations.

How to re-download an offloaded app

Even after you offload an app, its app icon stays on the Home Screen and App Library. You’ll see a download arrow before the app name, which signifies that this app is offloaded. Tap the app icon to download it again. As mentioned, the app data is still on the device.

Alternatively, you can also go to Settings > General > iPhone Storage > name name > Reinstall App.

Finally, you can also search for the app in the App Store and tap the download button.